AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Arbor AI / Ask Arbor
Arbor Education · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- No school DPA found
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | Arbor Education |
|---|---|
| Category | MIS / admin |
| Pupil-facing | not stated |
| Processor or controller | processor (OpenAI, Google subprocessors) |
| Where data is stored | MIS data and backups in the UK (AWS London); LLM transfers via UK DPF extension or SCCs + UK addendum |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no for OpenAI/Google; BUT customer data may be used to improve Arbor's own AI offerings |
| How long inputs are kept | LLM does not retain inputs/outputs |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | MIS and admin |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://support.arbor-education.com/hc/en-us/articles/23704846923805-Arbor-AI-FAQs · https://arbor-education.com/about-us/data-protection-gdpr/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/arbor-ai-ask-arbor. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.