AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Aula
Aula Education (Coventry University Group) · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | Aula Education (Coventry University Group) |
|---|---|
| Category | LMS |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | processor (institution is controller) |
| Where data is stored | European data centres |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://theaula.com/dpa |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | uses AI subprocessors; AI training terms not stated |
| Main use | VLE and learning platforms |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://aula.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360051868834-Security-Privacy · https://theaula.com/dpa
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/aula. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.