AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Be My Eyes (Be My AI)
Be My Eyes · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Be My Eyes |
|---|---|
| Category | visual assistance (accessibility) |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - Be My AI photos/queries not used for training; volunteer video calls may be shared for AI research unless opted out |
| How long inputs are kept | AI descriptions kept 30 days by default |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | Visual assistance |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.bemyeyes.com/privacy-policy/ · https://support.bemyeyes.com/hc/en-us/articles/18133134809105-Using-Be-My-AI
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/be-my-eyes. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.