← Back to Blackboard (AI Design Assistant)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Blackboard (AI Design Assistant)

Anthology · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Supplier says it is not for pupils
SupplierAnthology
Categorylearning platform (VLE)
Pupil-facingno - instructor-facing
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storedMicrosoft Azure OpenAI
Trains AI models on inputsno - Anthology does not fine-tune with client data; Microsoft does not retrain on inputs
How long inputs are keptprompts and outputs kept up to 30 days by Microsoft for content filtering
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety noteopt-in by institution
Main useVLE and learning platforms

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Aula (Amber), D2L Brightspace (Lumi) (Amber), Gemini in Google Classroom (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://help.anthology.com/blackboard/administrator/en/tools-management/blackboard-ai-design-assistant.html · https://www.blackboard.com/trust-center/trustworthy-ai-approach · https://www.blackboard.com/trust-center/generative-ai-functionalities
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/blackboard. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.