AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Boost / Boost Insights (Hachette Learning, formerly Hodder Education)
Hachette Learning · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Hachette Learning |
|---|---|
| Category | assessment and resources platform |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | processor (school is controller) |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - de-identified data used for product development and research, not AI-model training |
| How long inputs are kept | test data anonymised after 2 years (3 for ART/AMT) |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | Marking and assessment platform |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: No More Marking (AI marking / Double Marker) (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.hachettelearning.com/privacy-notice · https://help.hachettelearning.com/hc/en-gb/articles/20605893379613-Technical-requirements-and-GDPR
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/boost-boost-insights. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.