Brainly
AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Brainly · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
| Supplier | Brainly |
|---|---|
| Category | homework help / AI answers |
| Pupil-facing | yes - student-facing |
| Processor or controller | controller |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - says personal data not used to train AI; under-13 inputs never used |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | 13+ (under-13 only via parent-created child account); Brainly AI service not for under-16s |
| Key safety note | answer-giving homework app; academic integrity risk |
| Main use | Homework answer and solver apps |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://brainly.com/pages/privacy_policy · https://faq-us.brainly.com/support/solutions/articles/10000000091-minimum-age-to-use-brainly · https://hellobrainly.com/privacy-policy/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/brainly. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.