AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Cadmus
Cadmus · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Training depends on plan or settings
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Training depends on plan or settings
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Cadmus |
|---|---|
| Category | assessment / academic integrity |
| Pupil-facing | yes - students write in it |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | UK (AWS) for UK users |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not applicable - Cadmus says it does not use AI to grade or evaluate work |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | logs in-platform editing, pasting, timestamps and country-level location for human integrity review; no webcam or keystroke tracking |
| Main use | Plagiarism and academic integrity |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Turnitin (Feedback Studio / AI writing detection) (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://cadmus.io/notices/privacy-policy-uk · https://cadmus.io/news/data-at-cadmus/ · https://lse.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/AG/pages/2986311693/Cadmus+General+FAQs
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/cadmus. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.