AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Cambridge One (Speaking Companion)
Cambridge University Press & Assessment · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 6 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 6 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Cambridge University Press & Assessment |
|---|---|
| Category | English learning AI |
| Pupil-facing | yes - records speech |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | AI speaking practice with transcripts; AI training not stated |
| Main use | Language learning |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://cambridgeonehelp.cambridge.org/hc/en-gb/articles/35682771197970-What-is-Speaking-Companion · https://www.cambridgeone.org/privacy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/cambridge-one. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.