← Back to Canvas LMS (IgniteAI features)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Canvas LMS (IgniteAI features)

Instructure · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
SupplierInstructure
Categorylearning platform (VLE)
Pupil-facingyes
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno - student data not used to train; customer data only with institution authorisation
How long inputs are keptAI-feature data not kept for secondary use
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety noteeach AI feature has a published 'AI Nutrition Facts' card; features are opt-in by institution/course
Main useVLE and learning platforms

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Aula (Amber), D2L Brightspace (Lumi) (Amber), Gemini in Google Classroom (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://www.instructure.com/policies/artificial-intelligence-privacy · https://www.instructure.com/trust-center/ai-governance-responsibility
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/canvas-lms. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.