AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
ChatGPT for Teachers
OpenAI · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Supplier says it is not for pupils
| Supplier | OpenAI |
|---|---|
| Category | general chatbot (teacher workspace) |
| Pupil-facing | no - verified educators only |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - not used to train unless the user opts in |
| How long inputs are kept | kept until deleted; deleted chats removed within 30 days |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | only for verified US K-12 educators - not available to UK staff; UK teachers on personal ChatGPT are on consumer terms |
| Main use | General AI assistant / chatbot |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://help.openai.com/en/articles/12844995-chatgpt-for-teachers · https://openai.com/index/chatgpt-for-teachers/ · https://openai.com/enterprise-privacy/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/chatgpt-for-teachers. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.