AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
ChatJimmy (Taalas)
Taalas Inc. · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Taalas Inc. |
|---|---|
| Category | chatbot (tech demo) |
| Pupil-facing | not stated |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - prompts and outputs not used to train |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | public demo of Llama 3.1 8B on Taalas HC1 chips; no login, no age checks; Canadian company; not an education product - do not enter pupil data |
| Main use | General AI assistant / chatbot |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://taalas.com/privacy-policy/ · https://taalas.com/terms-conditions/ · https://taalas.com/products/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/chatjimmy. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.