← Back to ClaroRead (Claro Software / Texthelp)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

ClaroRead (Claro Software / Texthelp)

Claro Software (Texthelp) · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
  • Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
  • 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
  • Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
  • 5 of 6 key fields not stated
SupplierClaro Software (Texthelp)
Categoryassistive text-to-speech / OCR
Pupil-facingyes
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsnot stated
How long inputs are keptcloud TTS/OCR text stated not stored
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notetext sent to cloud sub-processors (Acapela, Amazon, Cereproc, Google) for speech and OCR
Main useText-to-speech and reading support
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://texthelpsupport.knowledgeowl.com/help/user-data-and-internet-access · https://support.texthelp.com/help/pdfexport/id/631f05792b049d45701deb51
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/claroread. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.