AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Claude for Education
Anthropic · Facts last checked 2026-10-22 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Processor/controller role depends on how it is used
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Minimum age 18+: not suitable for under-18s
| Supplier | Anthropic |
|---|---|
| Category | general chatbot (higher ed) |
| Pupil-facing | not stated |
| Processor or controller | institution controls account data under its agreement |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no by default; feedback (thumbs) may be used unless admin disables |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | 18+ |
| Key safety note | aimed at universities, not schools |
| Main use | General AI assistant / chatbot |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://privacy.anthropic.com/en/articles/7996868-is-my-data-used-for-model-training · https://support.claude.com/en/articles/13117299-minimum-age-requirement-access-restriction
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/claude-for-education. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.