AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Code.org / CodeAI (AI Teaching Assistant)
Code.org · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Code.org |
|---|---|
| Category | computing curriculum AI |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - student data and inputs not used to train commercial models |
| How long inputs are kept | student chat history deleted after 90 days |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | AI literacy and coding lessons |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://support.code.org/hc/en-us/articles/37172111941389-Code-org-Artificial-Intelligence-Privacy-Policy · https://support.code.org/hc/en-us/articles/41364361105805-AI-Teaching-Assistant-FAQ
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/code-org-codeai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.