← Back to Codecademy (AI Learning Assistant)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Codecademy (AI Learning Assistant)

Codecademy (Skillsoft) · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
SupplierCodecademy (Skillsoft)
Categorycoding courses AI
Pupil-facingyes - learners
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storedAI via OpenAI
Trains AI models on inputsYES unless opted out - data may improve models/products (opt-out offered)
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notenot stated
Main useAI literacy and coding lessons

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Code.org / CodeAI (AI Teaching Assistant) (Amber), Teachable Machine (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://www.codecademy.com/resources/blog/ai-principles · https://www.codecademy.com/policy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/codecademy. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.