Crowdmark
Crowdmark Inc · online marking · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: GREY Not enough information yet
Why grey:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Not stated
- Where data is stored
- US
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Marking and assessment platform
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Crowdmark Inc
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.crowdmark.com/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- online marking
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- student work
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- may be outside Canada including US
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- not stated
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.crowdmark.com/privacy/
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- AI limited to OCR matching and bubble-sheet marking
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Crowdmark safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Crowdmark Grey (not enough published information to rate) for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 5 of 6 key fields not stated) and Grey (not enough published information to rate) for pupil use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 5 of 6 key fields not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Crowdmark train on our data?
- Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Crowdmark trains its AI on what users type.
Where is Crowdmark data stored?
- may be outside Canada including US.
What age is Crowdmark for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Crowdmark?
- We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.