AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
DeepL Translator
DeepL SE · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
| Supplier | DeepL SE |
|---|---|
| Category | translation |
| Pupil-facing | sometimes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | EU (Germany-based supplier) |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES on Free - text and corrections may be used to train for a limited period; no on Pro |
| How long inputs are kept | Pro: deleted once translation returned |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | don't put pupil personal data into free DeepL; use Pro for school documents |
| Main use | Translation |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Microsoft Translator (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.deepl.com/en/privacy · https://www.deepl.com/pro-license?tab=free · https://support.deepl.com/hc/en-us/articles/26380849099932-DeepL-infrastructure-and-data-protection
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/deepl-translator. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.