AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Duolingo (Max AI features)
Duolingo · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
| Supplier | Duolingo |
|---|---|
| Category | language learning |
| Pupil-facing | yes (consumer) |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | AI text and audio shared with OpenAI and Google |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - recordings/transcripts may train Duolingo's own AI models |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | under 13 allowed with parent email |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | Language learning |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.duolingo.com/privacy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/duolingo. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.