AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Earwig Academic
Earwig Academic · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Earwig Academic |
|---|---|
| Category | portfolio |
| Pupil-facing | yes - SEND evidence |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | UK |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | built-in AI planned (roadmap); data stays within Earwig |
| Main use | Apprenticeship and e-portfolio |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.earwigacademic.com/information/data-protection-policy-gdpr-compliance · https://www.earwigacademic.com/the-earwig-tech-development-roadmap-2026
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/earwig-academic. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.