Echo360 (incl. GoReact)
Echo360 · lecture capture / video assessment · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- Mixed
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Lecture capture and video platform
- Sector
- Higher education (HE), Further education (FE), Schools
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Lecture capture and video platform) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- Panopto (AI captions, summaries, study tools) · Amber
2 caution points (this tool: 4): Doesn’t say where data is stored - Kaltura (AI / Genie) · Amber
3 caution points (this tool: 4): Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Echo360
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://echo360.com/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- lecture capture / video assessment
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes - students
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- GoReact video in AWS US East or EU (Ireland) unless otherwise specified; international transfers permitted
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no - customer data not used to train underlying AI models (stated for GoReact)
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://echo360.com/privacy/
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- not stated
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial
Sources
- echo360.comhttps://echo360.com/privacy/
- support.echo360.comhttps://support.echo360.com/hc/en-us/articles/38604362239629-GoReact-Technical-FAQs
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Echo360 (incl. GoReact) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Echo360 (incl. GoReact) Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 4 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 4 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Echo360 (incl. GoReact) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no - customer data not used to train underlying AI models (stated for GoReact).
Where is Echo360 (incl. GoReact) data stored?
- GoReact video in AWS US East or EU (Ireland) unless otherwise specified; international transfers permitted.
What age is Echo360 (incl. GoReact) for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Echo360 (incl. GoReact)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Panopto (AI captions, summaries, study tools) (amber), Kaltura (AI / Genie) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.