AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Gemini app (consumer / personal accounts)
Google · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
| Supplier | |
|---|---|
| Category | chatbot |
| Pupil-facing | not for school use - personal accounts |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - activity used to train generative models; subset human-reviewed |
| How long inputs are kept | default 18 months (3/36/indefinite); human-reviewed chats kept up to 3 years |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | 13 (supervised under-13 not in UK) |
| Key safety note | Gemini Apps not available for supervised (under-13) accounts in UK/EEA |
| Main use | General AI assistant / chatbot |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://support.google.com/gemini/answer/13594961 · https://support.google.com/gemini/answer/16109150
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/gemini-app-2. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.