AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Google Vids
Google · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | |
|---|---|
| Category | video creation |
| Pupil-facing | yes - Core Service |
| Processor or controller | processor (Core Service) |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | Education editions get Vids without AI features; on by default |
| Main use | AI video creation |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://workspaceupdates.googleblog.com/2025/06/vids-now-available-for-education-customers.html · https://support.google.com/a/answer/14896418
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/google-vids. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.