← Back to GPTZero

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

GPTZero

GPTZero Inc. · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Training depends on plan or settings
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Supplier says it is not for pupils
SupplierGPTZero Inc.
CategoryAI detector
Pupil-facingno - typically teacher-run
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsdepends - teacher/institution submissions never used for training; free users' anonymised submissions may be used to improve detection
How long inputs are keptdashboard scans kept as history until deleted; API text discarded unless storage opted in
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notedetector scores are probabilistic; avoid pasting identifiable pupil work on free accounts
Main useAI writing detection

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Winston AI (Amber), ZeroGPT (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://support.gptzero.me/articles/9816574530-does-gptzero-train-on-my-submitted-text · https://support.gptzero.me/articles/8705593161-what-data-does-gptzero-collect-when-i-use-it · https://gptzero.me/privacy-policy.html
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/gptzero. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.