AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Ideogram
Ideogram AI · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)
| Supplier | Ideogram AI |
|---|---|
| Category | image generation |
| Pupil-facing | 13+ with parental consent |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - prompts and uploaded images may train models (Enterprise excluded) |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | 13 (parent must accept for minors) |
| Key safety note | free-tier images are public |
| Main use | Image generation |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Adobe Firefly (education) (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://ideogram.ai/legal/tos/ · https://ideogram.ai/legal/privacy · https://docs.ideogram.ai/help/frequently-asked-questions
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/ideogram. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.