← Back to JSTOR AI Research Tool

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

JSTOR AI Research Tool

ITHAKA (JSTOR) · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
SupplierITHAKA (JSTOR)
CategoryAI research tool
Pupil-facingyes - students
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno - prompts not used to train third-party models; de-identified histories used to improve tool
How long inputs are keptLLM providers up to 30 days
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notenot stated
Main useAcademic search and literature

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Keenious (Amber), ResearchRabbit (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://about.jstor.org/products/jstor-platform/features-and-tools/research-tool/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/jstor-ai-research-tool. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.