← Back to Kaltura (AI / Genie)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Kaltura (AI / Genie)

Kaltura · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • 4 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • 4 of 6 key fields not stated
SupplierKaltura
Categoryvideo platform AI
Pupil-facingyes - students view/upload
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno - customer data not used to train or shared for training; anonymised telemetry only
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)https://corp.kaltura.com/legal/tos/artificial-intelligence-addendum/
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notenot stated
Main useLecture capture and video platform

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Panopto (AI captions, summaries, study tools) (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://corp.kaltura.com/kaltura-ai-principles/ · https://corp.kaltura.com/legal/tos/artificial-intelligence-addendum/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/kaltura. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.