AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
KEATH.ai
KEATH.ai · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
| Supplier | KEATH.ai |
|---|---|
| Category | AI marking |
| Pupil-facing | student work (staff-facing) |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - builds institution-specific models trained on past marked student work (identifiers removed) |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | Jisc piloted in UK HE/FE |
| Main use | AI essay and work marking |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: CoGrader (Amber), Smartgrade (Powermark AI marking) (Amber), EssayGrader (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://nationalcentreforai.jiscinvolve.org/wp/2025/05/14/keath-pilot-call-for-applications/ · https://keath.ai/privacy · https://docs.keath.ai/get-started.html
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/keath-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.