← Back to Khanmigo

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Khanmigo

Khan Academy · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
SupplierKhan Academy
Categorytutor (student) + teacher
Pupil-facingyes
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno - LLMs not allowed to train on student data; names/PII not shared with LLM providers
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum age18+ to self-register; under-18 only via district, parent link or teacher assignment
Key safety notemoderation flags email an adult; parents see transcripts; Khanmigo Lite (GPT) is different - OpenAI may train unless opted out; US-focused (FERPA)
Main usePupil-facing AI chatbot

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Flint (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://support.khanacademy.org/hc/en-us/articles/36808726375693 · https://support.khanacademy.org/hc/en-us/articles/13965308352781 · https://support.khanacademy.org/hc/en-us/articles/22396485532173
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/khanmigo. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.