AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
LessonUp (AI)
LessonUp B.V. · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | LessonUp B.V. |
|---|---|
| Category | lesson creation |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | processor (school is controller) |
| Where data is stored | EEA (some US support tools) |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | 2 years default unless school sets otherwise |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | yes - DPA used |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | Interactive lessons |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.lessonup.com/site/en/terms · https://www.lessonup.com/site/en/privacy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/lessonup. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.