AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Mentimeter (AI features)
Mentimeter AB · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Mentimeter AB |
|---|---|
| Category | polling / presentations |
| Pupil-facing | yes - audiences respond |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - customer content not used to train; third-party providers prohibited from training |
| How long inputs are kept | OpenAI may keep data up to 30 days for abuse monitoring |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://www.mentimeter.com/trust/legal/enterprise-terms |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | AI can be switched off by workspace admins; identity/audience details not sent to OpenAI |
| Main use | Live polling and Q&A |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.mentimeter.com/ai-at-mentimeter · https://help.mentimeter.com/en/articles/9064405-opting-out-of-mentimeter-s-ai-features · https://www.mentimeter.com/trust/legal/privacy-policy
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/mentimeter. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.