AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Microsoft Copilot Chat (work/school account)
Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
- Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | general chatbot |
| Pupil-facing | not stated |
| Processor or controller | processor (Bing web queries: Microsoft is independent controller) |
| Where data is stored | stored at rest in the tenant's geography (UK for UK tenants) under Microsoft 365 data residency commitments, with no Copilot-specific exceptions listed; transfers under the Products and Services DPA (SCCs) |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - prompts/responses not used to train foundation models |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://www.microsoft.com/licensing/docs/view/Microsoft-Products-and-Services-Data-Protection-Addendum-DPA |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | yes - Microsoft Products and Services DPA applies to all customers |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | prompts and responses logged; IT admin can audit |
| Main use | General AI assistant / chatbot |
Sources: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/copilot/enterprise-data-protection · https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/privacy/data-protection-when-using-microsoft-365-copilot-chat-for-work-or-school · https://www.microsoft.com/licensing/docs/view/Microsoft-Products-and-Services-Data-Protection-Addendum-DPA · https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/enterprise/m365-dr-workload-copilot
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-copilot-chat. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.