Microsoft Copilot (consumer, personal account)
AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026
AI Prefect
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
- Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
- Supplier acts as a data controller, not a processor for the school
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | general chatbot |
| Pupil-facing | not stated |
| Processor or controller | controller (consumer service) |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES for adults unless opted out in Privacy settings; signed-in under-18s not used for training |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | 13+ in the UK |
| Key safety note | different from Copilot Chat signed in with a school account - check which one staff use |
| Main use | General AI assistant / chatbot |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: ChatGPT Edu (Green), Gemini app (Workspace for Education) (Green), Microsoft 365 Copilot (Green)
Sources: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/microsoft-copilot/for-individuals/termsofuse · https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/privacy/microsoft-copilot/young-people · https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/microsoft-copilot/microsoft-copilot-privacy-controls
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-copilot. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.