AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Microsoft Designer
Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | image generation / design |
| Pupil-facing | 13+ |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | 13 |
| Key safety note | prompts collected to provide, investigate abuse and improve service; generative features may have regional age limits |
| Main use | Graphic design |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/designer/frequently-asked-questions-about-microsoft-designer · https://designer.microsoft.com/consumerTermsOfUse/en-US/consumerTermsOfUse.pdf
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-designer. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.