Microsoft Immersive Reader
AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | reading accessibility |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - Immersive Reader does not store customer data |
| How long inputs are kept | not stored |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | built into Microsoft 365, Teams and Edge |
| Main use | Text-to-speech and reading support |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://azure.microsoft.com/en-us/products/ai-services/ai-immersive-reader · https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/azure/ai-services/immersive-reader/release-notes
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-immersive-reader. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.