AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Microsoft Learning Zone
Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | lesson creation |
| Pupil-facing | yes - pupils complete assigned lessons |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | EU, US and Australia |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | lesson creation uses on-device AI on Copilot+ PCs with cloud as needed; teachers must review AI content; student activity visible only to the assigning teacher |
| Main use | Interactive lessons |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/learning-zone/data-collection-in-microsoft-learning-zone · https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-365/education/guide/1-reference/baseline-reference-deploy-learning-zone
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-learning-zone. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.