← Back to Microsoft Reading Coach

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Microsoft Reading Coach

Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • 3 of 6 key fields not stated
SupplierMicrosoft
Categoryreading (pupil)
Pupil-facingyes
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno - student data not used to train models
How long inputs are keptschool accounts: stored with the pupil's school Entra ID, under the tenant's policies
Data processing agreement (DPA)https://www.microsoft.com/licensing/docs/view/Microsoft-Products-and-Services-Data-Protection-Addendum-DPA
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notecontent filters incl. age appropriateness
Main useReading and literacy practice

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Lexia Core5 / PowerUp (LexiaUK) (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/getting-started-with-reading-coach
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-reading-coach. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.