Microsoft Reading Progress / Learning Accelerators
AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | reading fluency AI |
| Pupil-facing | yes - records pupils reading aloud |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | per school's Microsoft 365 retention policies |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | audio/video of pupils reading; AI passage generation; admins can disable advanced inferences |
| Main use | Reading and literacy practice |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoftteams/insights-for-reading-progress · https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/education/learning-accelerators/reading-progress-passage-generation-faq
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/microsoft-reading-progress-learning-accelerators. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.