Midjourney
Midjourney, Inc. · image generation · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data
Why red:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Yes
- Where data is stored
- Not stated
- Minimum age
- 13–17
- Use case
- Image generation
- Sector
- Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Image generation) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- Adobe Firefly (education) · Amber
3 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Midjourney, Inc.
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.midjourney.com
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- image generation
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- not stated
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- not stated
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- YES - prompts, images and interactions used for training
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://docs.midjourney.com/hc/en-us/articles/32083472637453-Privacy-Policy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- 13+ and local digital-consent age
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- creations public by default; Stealth mode is a paid option
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced (primary pages read 23 Oct 2026)
Sources
- docs.midjourney.comhttps://docs.midjourney.com/hc/en-us/articles/32083055291277-Terms-of-Service
- docs.midjourney.comhttps://docs.midjourney.com/hc/en-us/articles/32019750070669-Stealth-Mode
- docs.midjourney.comhttps://docs.midjourney.com/hc/en-us/articles/48067080311309-Public-Summary-of-Training-Content
Change history
| Date | Field | Was | Now | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-22 | (new entry) | — | Added to the directory | docs.midjourney.com |
Quick answers
Is Midjourney safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Midjourney Red for staff use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated) and Red for pupil use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Midjourney train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: YES - prompts, images and interactions used for training.
Where is Midjourney data stored?
- Not stated in the supplier's published documents.
What age is Midjourney for?
- 13+ and local digital-consent age.
Is there a safer alternative to Midjourney?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Adobe Firefly (education) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.