Moodle (AI subsystem)
Moodle HQ / your institution's host · learning platform (VLE) · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Depends / see detail
- Where data is stored
- Other / unclear
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- VLE and learning platforms
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (VLE and learning platforms) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- Aula · Amber
2 caution points (this tool: 5): Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type - D2L Brightspace (Lumi) · Amber
3 caution points (this tool: 5): Doesn’t say where data is stored - Gemini in Google Classroom · Amber
3 caution points (this tool: 5): Doesn’t say where data is stored
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Moodle HQ / your institution's host
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://docs.moodle.org/500/en/AI_providers
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- learning platform (VLE)
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- depends - admins control by role
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- institution configures the AI provider (OpenAI or Azure OpenAI); provider terms apply
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- depends on the provider your institution connects
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- depends on provider - Azure OpenAI does not train on prompts
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://docs.moodle.org/500/en/AI_providers
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- AI providers are disabled by default; users accept an AI usage policy on first use; risk depends entirely on how your Moodle is configured
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial
Sources
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Moodle (AI subsystem) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Moodle (AI subsystem) Amber for staff use (Training depends on plan or settings; Processor/controller role depends on how it is used; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Training depends on plan or settings; Processor/controller role depends on how it is used; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Moodle (AI subsystem) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: depends on provider - Azure OpenAI does not train on prompts.
Where is Moodle (AI subsystem) data stored?
- depends on the provider your institution connects.
What age is Moodle (AI subsystem) for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Moodle (AI subsystem)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Aula (amber), D2L Brightspace (Lumi) (amber), Gemini in Google Classroom (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.