Nearpod
Renaissance · lessons · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- US
- Minimum age
- 13–17
- Use case
- Interactive lessons
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Interactive lessons) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- Curipod · Amber
2 caution points (this tool: 3): Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller - LessonUp (AI) · Amber
2 caution points (this tool: 3): Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Renaissance
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://nearpod.com
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- lessons
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- mostly US
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no - Nearpod's AI does not use or collect user data to train the model (AI FAQ)
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- while account active / as needed
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://nearpod.com/privacy-policy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- DPO: Renaissance, Bloomington MN
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- website not directed at under-13s
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- AI Create: teachers preview and edit generated content before use (AI FAQ)
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial - AI FAQ read 23 Oct 2026; DPA and AI data storage not stated
Sources
- nearpod.comhttps://nearpod.com/privacy-policy
- nearpod.comhttps://nearpod.com/ai
Change history
| Date | Field | Was | Now | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-23 | trains on inputs | — | no - Nearpod's AI does not use or collect user data to train the model (AI FAQ) | nearpod.com |
| 2026-10-23 | key safety note | AI features not described in this policy | AI Create: teachers preview and edit generated content before use (AI FAQ) | nearpod.com |
Quick answers
Is Nearpod safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Nearpod Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; Minimum age website not directed at under-13s: not for younger pupils; check consent). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Nearpod train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no - Nearpod's AI does not use or collect user data to train the model (AI FAQ).
Where is Nearpod data stored?
- mostly US.
What age is Nearpod for?
- website not directed at under-13s.
Is there a safer alternative to Nearpod?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Curipod (amber), LessonUp (AI) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.