NotebookLM (Workspace for Education)
Google · research/teacher tool · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff: GREEN Lower risk: fine to use with normal checks
Why green:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- Other / unclear
- Minimum age
- 18+
- Use case
- Chat with documents
- Sector
- Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Chat with documents) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For pupil use
- Adobe Acrobat AI Assistant · Amber
5 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller - Humata · Amber
5 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://support.google.com/a/answer/15706919?hl=en
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- research/teacher tool
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- not stated
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor (Workspace core service, Cloud Data Processing Addendum applies)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- Google infrastructure; org data region settings do NOT apply to NotebookLM (now Gemini Notebook) data; transfers under the SCCs in Google's Cloud Data Processing Addendum
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no; not human reviewed
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://support.google.com/a/answer/15706919?hl=en
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- https://cloud.google.com/terms/data-processing-addendum
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- yes - Cloud Data Processing Addendum is part of the Workspace agreement
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- 18+
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- not stated
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
- support.google.comhttps://support.google.com/a/answer/15706919?hl=en
- workspaceupdates.googleblog.comhttps://workspaceupdates.googleblog.com/2025/04/notebookLM-and-gemini-app-core-services-for-education-customers.html
- cloud.google.comhttps://cloud.google.com/terms/data-processing-addendum
- support.google.comhttps://support.google.com/a/answer/15706919
- workspace.google.comhttps://workspace.google.com/terms/dpa_terms.html
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is NotebookLM (Workspace for Education) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates NotebookLM (Workspace for Education) Green for staff use (Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available) and Red for pupil use (Minimum age 18+: not suitable for under-18s). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does NotebookLM (Workspace for Education) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no; not human reviewed.
Where is NotebookLM (Workspace for Education) data stored?
- Google infrastructure; org data region settings do NOT apply to NotebookLM (now Gemini Notebook) data; transfers under the SCCs in Google's Cloud Data Processing Addendum.
What age is NotebookLM (Workspace for Education) for?
- 18+.
Is there a safer alternative to NotebookLM (Workspace for Education)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Adobe Acrobat AI Assistant (amber), Humata (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.