← Back to Otter.ai

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Otter.ai

Otter.ai, Inc. · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
  • Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
SupplierOtter.ai, Inc.
Categorymeeting transcription
Pupil-facingnot stated
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storedUS (AWS)
Trains AI models on inputsYES - de-identified recordings and transcripts train Otter's own AI
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot directed at under-13s
Key safety noterecords meetings - consent of everyone recorded needed
Main useMeeting transcription and notes

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Fireflies.ai (Amber), Microsoft Teams Premium Intelligent Recap (Amber), Zoom AI Companion (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://otter.ai/privacy-security · https://otter.ai/privacy-policy · https://help.otter.ai/hc/en-us/articles/360048258953-Data-security-and-privacy-policies
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/otter-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.