AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Panopto (AI captions, summaries, study tools)
Panopto · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- 3 of 6 key fields not stated
- Minimum age not stated
| Supplier | Panopto |
|---|---|
| Category | lecture capture / video |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | processor |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - customer materials and AI output not used to train/fine-tune except customer-specific models or written opt-in |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | https://assets.panopto.com/asset/7b34b3f1-cc21-423d-8db8-770ec573a3e5/Panopto_Data-Processing-Agreement_2026.pdf |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | Lecture capture and video platform |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://assets.panopto.com/asset/5e05685b-15a6-48d6-9e53-431752969b8e/Panopto-Artificial-Intelligence-Services-Addendum-Ver-_201-1.pdf · https://www.panopto.com/panopto-ai-statement/ · https://www.panopto.com/legal/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/panopto. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.