AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Pearson AI Study Tool (Pearson+ / Mastering)
Pearson · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
| Supplier | Pearson |
|---|---|
| Category | courseware AI |
| Pupil-facing | yes - students |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - student personal data not used to train |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | Study tools and flashcards |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.pearson.com/privacy-center/resources/ai-frequently-asked-questions.html · https://www.pearson.com/en-gb/higher-education/products-services/mastering/aistudytool/ai-frequently-asked-questions.html
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/pearson-ai-study-tool. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.