← Back to Primo Research Assistant

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Primo Research Assistant

Clarivate (Ex Libris) · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
SupplierClarivate (Ex Libris)
Categorylibrary discovery AI
Pupil-facingyes - students
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsno - inputs not stored by LLM or used to train
How long inputs are keptsigned-in users: last 200 searches saved (deletable)
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notenot stated
Main useAcademic search and literature

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Keenious (Amber), ResearchRabbit (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://clarivate.com/ai/academia/policy/ · https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/Primo/Product_Documentation/020Primo_VE/Primo_VE_(English)/015_Getting_Started_with_Primo_Research_Assistant
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/primo-research-assistant. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.