Replit (AI Agent)
Replit · coding environment / AI coding · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data
Why red:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Yes
- Where data is stored
- Not stated
- Minimum age
- 13–17
- Use case
- Coding assistant
- Sector
- Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Coding assistant) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
Staff and pupils
- GitHub Copilot (Student) · Amber
4 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- Replit
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://replit.com/
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- coding environment / AI coding
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- yes - 13+
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- not stated
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- YES - code, prompts and AI responses used to improve models; Pro users can opt out; Enterprise excluded; public apps may be used
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://replit.com/privacy-policy
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- 13 (parental permission under 18)
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- keep student projects private
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
- docs.replit.comhttps://docs.replit.com/legal-and-security-info/model-improvement
- replit.comhttps://replit.com/terms-of-service
- replit.comhttps://replit.com/privacy-policy
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Replit (AI Agent) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Replit (AI Agent) Red for staff use (This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)) and Red for pupil use (This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Replit (AI Agent) train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: YES - code, prompts and AI responses used to improve models; Pro users can opt out; Enterprise excluded; public apps may be used.
Where is Replit (AI Agent) data stored?
- Not stated in the supplier's published documents.
What age is Replit (AI Agent) for?
- 13 (parental permission under 18).
Is there a safer alternative to Replit (AI Agent)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: GitHub Copilot (Student) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.