AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Save My Exams (Smart Mark AI)
Save My Exams Ltd · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated
| Supplier | Save My Exams Ltd |
|---|---|
| Category | revision / AI marking |
| Pupil-facing | yes - students |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | YES - answers and other user content may be anonymised and used indefinitely, including to train AI tools |
| How long inputs are kept | anonymised answers may be kept indefinitely and shown to other users |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | pupils' answers can be reused to train AI and shown to others once anonymised |
| Main use | Revision and past papers |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Access GCSEPod (AI tools) (Green), Seneca (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://www.savemyexams.com/privacy/ · https://www.savemyexams.com/learning-hub/sme-articles/is-save-my-exams-ai/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/save-my-exams. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.