← Back to Scopus AI (Elsevier)

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Scopus AI (Elsevier)

Elsevier · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated
  • No school DPA found
SupplierElsevier
CategoryAI academic search
Pupil-facingyes - students and researchers via library licence
Processor or controllernot stated
Where data is storedprivate Azure-hosted OpenAI instance
Trains AI models on inputsno - queries not stored or used to train OpenAI models
How long inputs are keptchat history kept in Standard mode; deleted after 30 days in Temporary mode
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety notenot stated
Main useAcademic search and literature

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Keenious (Amber), ResearchRabbit (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://www.elsevier.support/scopus/answer/what-is-scopus-ai · https://researcheracademy.elsevier.com/uploads/2024-08/Scopus%20AI%20-%20Fact%20Sheet%20-%20Using%20Responsible%20AI%20Principles.pdf
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/scopus-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.