AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Seeing AI
Microsoft · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
Pupils: Grey · Not enough information yet
- Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
- 5 of 6 key fields not stated
| Supplier | Microsoft |
|---|---|
| Category | visual assistance (accessibility) |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | not stated |
| How long inputs are kept | cloud-processed images deleted after processing; face photos stored on device |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | not stated |
| Main use | Visual assistance |
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://blogs.microsoft.com/accessibility/seeing-ai-2/ · https://play.google.com/store/apps/datasafety?hl=en_US&id=com.microsoft.seeingai
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/seeing-ai. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.