AI tool summary for DPOs and governors
Seesaw (AI features)
Seesaw Learning · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
- No school DPA found
Pupils: Red · Not recommended for school data
- Supplier says it is not for pupils
| Supplier | Seesaw Learning |
|---|---|
| Category | primary learning journal |
| Pupil-facing | no direct pupil access to generative AI |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | no - not without explicit consent |
| How long inputs are kept | not stated |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | AI features teacher-controlled; adults review AI output |
| Main use | EYFS and primary learning journals |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: Tapestry (Amber), Evidence Me (AI) (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://help.seesaw.me/hc/en-us/articles/40166120950541-Seesaw-s-AI-Philosophy · https://seesaw.com/privacy-policy/service-privacy-policy/
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/seesaw. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.